Mayfield Country Club

Member Login


History

The Mayfield Country Club traces its origin to 1908 when a group of members of The Euclid Club, desiring to play more than the nine holes on their home course, purchased 235 acres at what was then Stop 10-A on the Mayfield Road trolley line.

Under the leadership of Benjamin E. Bourne and Malcolm B Johnson, W.H. “Bertie” Way, the former Euclid Club Professional, designed the golf course. To this day, the rolling contours make the course a favorite with knowledgeable players. It is often said that no matter how many times the course is played, new challenges continually arise.

Bertie Way was Head Professional at Mayfield for fifty-one years, during which time the Club hosted the 1915 and 1919 Western Opens, the 1920 Women’s National Championship, the 1927 Ohio Women’s Championship and the 1929 Women’s Western Championship. The 1990 Women’s Ohio State Amateur Championship was also held at Mayfield.

Although golf was the reason for Mayfield’s inception, a whole range of other activities soon developed. Tennis courts, both hard surfaced and grass were constructed. In 1921, the Club hosted the Davis Cup semifinals between Australia and Denmark.

In 1935, a modern swimming pool was added, unique for country clubs at the time. With the popularity of Curling growing in North America, this sport was added, first with an outdoor sheet, and later, a state-of-the-art indoor facility. Platform tennis was added in the 1960’s. In 1987, a Cross-Country Skiing program was inaugurated.

Mayfield’s clubhouse was designed by Frank B. Meade, one of the preeminent architects of the day. The Club suffered a major fire in 1914 which destroyed most of the building. Another major fire in 1948 destroyed all of the interior structure of the Clubhouse except the Men’s Locker Room. The Clubhouse was rebuilt on the same foundation with changes taking place in the location of the major rooms.